Maxam House Legacy
Sanford Howe, a quite prosperous farmer, owned several of acres of productive farmland around Archer Cemetery near and around Princeton’s present high school. Mr. Howe built two fine homes for his two daughters, the Maxam House at 426 North Main in 1884 and another house two blocks west at 505 North West Street in 1885. Legend has it these homes were built from bricks left over after the demolition of the second Gibson County Court House in 1883.
After Jane Howe Maxam’s death in 1913, Dr. Maxam remarried around 1920. He passed away in 1926 leaving the house to his second wife, Marion and his two daughters, Ruth and Charlotte. Charlotte, who had three children, moved out West where she died in 1958. From 1926 until her death in 1970, Marion and her stepdaughter, Ruth, lived in the massive house and supported themselves. Ruth Maxam, who never married, was one of Princeton’s first businesswomen and was very respected throughout the community. From 1884 until Ruth’s death in 1974, the Maxam House remained in the family.
The house had four different owners from 1974 until 2000 when it was totally restored and converted into Gibson County’s only Bed and Breakfast. In 2013 Tim and MaryFran Stransky purchased the B&B and continue to welcome guests from around the world to step back in time and enjoy the beautiful home that Sanford Howe built for his daughter over 130 years ago.